Home > Poetry > Draft Day

Draft Day

Today we gather,

the proud owners of the XYZFFL.

We happy few,

Holding our draft not in the

misery index heat of late August, but the

first weekend of May.

Seems like a good idea now we sip sweet tea

and we chew on barbecued brisket … and

seitan.

I grumbled about throwing that glob of

gluten on my pit, it tastes alright, but we

both know it’s not brisket, and I suppose

for both of us that’s precisely the point.

but there is none here as bold as you,

Our loan woman, my beautiful wife,

not afraid to be you, but still

unquestionably a part of Us.

And damn it if those vegan barbecued beans

weren’t the best I’ve ever had.

A year from now,

we won’t remember exactly who picked whom

and when.

Draft day is not the time to dwell upon mistakes,

It is the most optimistic of days,

Every pick, a future star,

every team a champion,

whether you are eating seitan,

or brisket.

Categories: Poetry
  1. charcoalgypsy
    May 3, 2010 at 7:15 am

    Nice, Nate!

  2. charcoalgypsy
    May 3, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Now that I read this again, I quite like it! Excellent job again, sir! (Okay, I’m really just commenting again to see if it changed my link thingee…but I do think it’s a great poem.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

