Home > Poetry > Circus Maximus

Circus Maximus

Here am I,

walking in a neat little circle,

to entertain your children.

But I’m tame,

You can tell from this ridiculous tassled hat I’m wearing.

I’m so glad you’ve advanced so far as a species since the days of Rome.

It’s so much more dignified to walk in a circle carrying your brats than to face

Death,

with a least some possibility,

of dignity.

When Pompey, slaughtered us at the Circus Maximus,

The crowd turned upon him,

when it saw the magnitude of our suffering.

I’d take my chances,

at the Circus Maximus.

Categories: Poetry
  1. charcoalgypsy
    May 4, 2010 at 5:40 am

    Oh, this is so sad!

  2. May 8, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    there is a magnitude of suffering in the circus. 😦

  3. May 8, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    watching a circus one day [took my young son] they had 17 elephants lined up performing.. i was in awe at their weight and size in one small place under a tent and my eyes were opened to their plight vowing never to attend another circus… my ignorance revealed

  4. May 8, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Sad but wonderfully written!

  5. Deb
    May 9, 2010 at 4:00 am

    Suffering then and now. I do like how your poem circles time. Reminds us of history.

    Thanks for joining the Big Tent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

