Home > Poetry > Let me die like Elvis

Let me die like Elvis

Maybe if I’m lucky, I’ll die like Elvis,

fat, doped and happy on the crapper.

Even soldiers, if they aren’t killed by friendly fire or accident, will fall to a bullet fired by an enemy who never saw the face of the man he killed.

There are no more good deaths,

no manly deaths,

not even for the best of us.

No one gets to die with a sword in hand, no one merits a Viking funeral,

I shall not pass into Valhalla,

nor shall I be ferried into the place of Apples,

I will die, likely as not, ignominiously in my sleep.

Categories: Poetry
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

