Home > Poetry > Talbot Wins the Purse

Talbot Wins the Purse

I met a lass at tourney

who gave me a sapient look,

and I did doff my cap.

She asked me to enter the lists,

to challenge the famous Lord Scales.

I did laugh,

and said such things were best left to younger men.

She sighed and fondled my coronal,

My face turned a tincture as scarlet as the caparison of my charger,

and so to such charms did I capitulate, and entered the lists.

Futile they say was my contest against the great Lord Anthony, none remembers me as the do the Bastard of Burgundy.

I made of myself a great old fool,

Perhaps,

but that maiden did doff her kirtle for me,

so though honor and glory may belong to Lord Scales,

But twas I,

old Talbot,

who claimed the purse.

Categories: Poetry
  1. May 22, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I just loved reading this poem this morning…such a sense of humor, with a twist of an ending. Bravo!

  2. May 22, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    See. And that’s how the war is won. 🙂 This is wonderfully fine!

  3. Deb
    May 23, 2010 at 3:37 am

    Nice to read that sometimes the risk of being a fool is worth it!

  4. May 23, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    LOL — thank you for your wit and poetic prowess! I need to return to read more…it seems that you have a very unusual take on the world (at least from my perspective)…and I love unusual takes.

  5. May 23, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    i like the clues you give to the narrator: old fool, for example, and his use of “’twas I.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

