Home > Poetry > Drawing a Line at the Mega-Mart

Drawing a Line at the Mega-Mart

Looking at all the cellophane wrapped meat in the mega-mart, I see where you are coming from.

It makes it all too easy.

It’s important that the meat I eat, come from an animal that ate well and died well.

You wonder whether I would kill for food, but we both know I would.

I’d hunt boar with a bowie knife if that was what it took to get me some hog to ‘cue

and that scares you a little.

The need to kill.

Meat certainly isn’t murder, but it is most definitely killing,

pure and righteous killing,

for the most delicious of causes,

and I’m more than OK with that.

Progress has robbed us of so much.

We can’t raid a neighboring village for sport anymore,

can’t fight honor duels,

can’t even have a good old fashioned brawl without some asshole suing for assault.

Somewhere, a line has to be drawn,

and you will pry my grass fed, hormone free antibiotic free steak from my cold dead fingers.

Categories: Poetry
  1. May 25, 2010 at 5:30 am

    Bitter much, darling?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

