Home > Poetry > Satisfaction

Satisfaction

Occasionally folks will ask me whether I think my barbecue is an aphrodisiac.

If you’ve ever watched anyone eating my cue, that’s something I can’t blame them for asking.

Something happens when you set a half rack of my ribs in front of even the most prim and proper lady you can imagine.

Oh, sure she’ll start in on it with a knife and fork,

But I’ll come round, give ’em a big ole smile and say “This here is a barbecue joint, it ain’t no high tea.” Then they’ll laugh and sure enough half a minute later they’re gnawing straight through to the bone marrow, and sucking them bones dry.

When you see that, seems like a natural question.

Who knows what a scientist would think.

I tell you what though, tell that scientist to forget about all his vials and doodads, and bring his gal in here and watch what happens,

Then they can tell me whether they think my barbecue is an aphrodisiac,

they’d probably be inclined to think so.

Problem is they’d be wrong.

By the time they get their lady friend home,

she’s likely to just want to read a book,

cause I already done satisfied her.

Categories: Poetry
  1. May 29, 2010 at 6:07 am

    LOL! I was just at the BBQ Festival in Memphis. What a disappointment. But, at least I was in Memphis and I got to suck on dem bones! They are, bar none, the meatiest aphros ever. Well done! (but not my ribs)

  2. May 29, 2010 at 9:28 am

    LOL! I was just at the BBQ Festival in Memphis. What a disappointment. But, at least I was in Memphis and I got to suck on dem bones! They are, bar none, the meatiest aphros ever. Well done! (but not my ribs)
    +1

  3. May 29, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    A clever perspective on the prompt! I have seen some guys treat their barbecue moments like a dance with a soulmate! I understand the sentiments! I have seen it happen!

  4. May 29, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    You inhabited this poem! Wonderful. Girl & grill.

  5. Deb
    May 29, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    The voice is charming, and the service impeccable. Will have to take the narrator’s word on the food, but agree.

  6. tillybud
    May 30, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I love this poem! The end made me laugh out loud. Nice perspective into a man’s mind, as well.

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

  7. May 31, 2010 at 1:09 am

    Clever – surely the best kind of aphrodisiac.

  8. June 1, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Great idea here, and the ending gave me a good laugh!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

