Home > Poetry > Father’s Day

Father’s Day

Made my wife’s Dad a brisket today.

I remember how much you loved barbecue, maybe as much as I do.

Your namesake wore his Sooner’s hat today,

I watched him slowly turning his marshmellow over the glowing embers in the fire pit,

taking care not to burn his like the other kids.

You would have been proud,

he’s a born pitmaster,

by this time next year he’ll be able to cook the brisket,

he’s been asking for his own little starter’s pit for a while now,

I think we should build one together,

and we’ll paint it Sooner Red.

and the scent of pale blue smoke from our pit will rise to the heavens.

My son will take a bite,

and boldly declare how damn good his own handiwork is, with pure pitmaster bravado

My wife will smile,

and I’ll crack a joke,

and he’ll laugh that full body laugh of yours, and throw his head back just like you used to do, and everyone around him will be incapable of any feeling other than joy,

and it will be like you never went away.

Categories: Poetry
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

