Home > Poetry > Granny’s Kitchen Table

Granny’s Kitchen Table

Granny had no heirloom table of polished hardwood passed from generation to generation.

My Granny’s table changed form many times,

no matter the shape or size,

it was

my university,

by debate class,

and my culinary school.

I hope someday my children can say the same about their time around my own kitchen table.

Categories: Poetry
  1. June 30, 2010 at 4:34 am

    I like it! Dang, I don’t know why prompts were so difficult tonight. Nice weather and no kids, maybe?

    Love this idea of the kitchen table as a university. Great stuff!

  2. July 1, 2010 at 5:07 am

    Band wagon must not always be joined. The most important thing is doing what pleases the heart and making it as outstanding as the band wagon, if not cause a band wagon with it…Well written…Nice!

  3. July 1, 2010 at 5:42 am

    And so you would leave a dictionary full of memories…how wonderfully written 🙂

  4. July 1, 2010 at 11:00 am

    lovely images!

  5. July 4, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    please find time visiting poets back…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

