Home > Poetry > Blood and Ink

Blood and Ink

My writing is not subtle or clever,

for I am not subtle and clever.

I am,

as Howard described his famed barbarian,

a man of gigantic melancholies and gigantic mirths.

I write to express both.

I often write because I am angry,

and I am often angry because we live in a world where there is so much to be angry about,

and I cannot take up the sword,

nor can I even take up a lash like Christ driving the money changers from the Temple,

so I take up the pen.

Whoever said it was mightier than the sword, was a clever and subtle poet indeed,

but he was also a liar.

I would trade in my pen for a broadsword with glee.

For more wrongs have been righted in blood than in ink.

Categories: Poetry
  1. July 14, 2010 at 2:04 am

    But…I have to say…the image you paint on cavas through your poems, are beautiful words so creatively descriptive. That makes your work magic..and so very clever! Have a good day …from the land downunder 🙂

  2. July 14, 2010 at 7:22 am

    And more rights have been wronged by spilling blood. Stick to your pen – it is a talented one. I too like plain and simple poetry.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

