Home > Poetry > After the Rain …

After the Rain …

People think that rain washes away the filth,

that after the rain comes new life.

What rain really brings is mold, and rust,

and wet.

I’m sure it’s easy for someone living in California, or even someplace normal like Seattle to see good in rain,

to wax eloquent about how clean everything smells after a rain,

But they don’t know shit about rain,

that’s right Seattle I’m talking to you coffee swilling whiners,

by most people’s standards Seattle is a rainy city,

fuck that noise,

I grew up in a place where it rained, more or less all the time, I’m talking triple digit annual rainfall,

and here’s what I know about what comes after the rain,

more fucking rain, and if we are really lucky,

floods.

Categories: Poetry
  1. charcoalgypsy
    July 15, 2010 at 4:10 am

    You sound angry. But you make a good point. Although I don’t mind the rain, or the mold and rust and wet. Nice job with the prompt.

  2. July 15, 2010 at 6:41 am

    LOL…omg…you made me laugh so much…it is winter here in Australia ….I share your sentiment about the rain….I am so f^%%$g over it too:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

