Home > Poetry > Never Give a Shit

Never Give a Shit

Never learned the value of a dollar.

don’t save, don’t own a home, and don’t care.

When I was a kid, I’d pay my sister a portion of my allowance to do my chores on the weekends so I could take off, and just get away.

Still had enough to buy my Savage Sword of Conan, some new D&D books, graph paper, pencils, dice.

There will always be things I’d rather do,

like walk down to the corner store and buy a glossy magazine with stories of barbaric adventure,

buy a Slurpy to cool me on a hot day,

and imagine what it would be like to be a roving slayer,

and perhaps gather with a few like minded friends,

and imagine together that we are a band of lusty adventurers,

sometimes righting wrongs,

but more often doing wrong,

and never, absolutely never,

giving a shit.

Categories: Poetry
  1. July 16, 2010 at 5:42 am

    I enjoyed this immensely! Can I come along?!?

  2. July 16, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    This is just awesome…say it like it is!! Have a fabulous weekend with your wonderful family x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

