Home > Poetry > Escape

Escape

My male cat, Tolstoy, has lodged himself into the old shell of a computer chassis,

both side panels removed,

which, along with some creative use of duct tape,

has provided a stand for the large fan I have positioned for cooling purposes

in my living room window.

He presses his nose up against the screen,

he sighs and sniffs,

it looks almost as if a single tear has formed in the corner of his left eye,

I don’t have the heart to make him get out,

even though I know I should,

as he’s become an escape artist lately,

and thinks of himself as a great charcoal gray lion on the prowl,

even though he’s really an overweight house cat,

who’s quite clumsy by cat standards,

and is easily frightened.

I pat him on the head,

and let him carry on,

and return to my sink full of dishes.

Within seconds I hear him clawing at the screen,

I gently extricate his claws,

he’s none to pleased to discover that I’ve secured the screen with clear packing tape from the outside,

but rather than scold him,

I look at him in the eye,

and simply say,

I understand.

Categories: Poetry
  1. July 20, 2010 at 3:13 am

    This is so vivid and heartfelt. Great job with the prompt. (I’m on the charcoal gray lion’s side too.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

